Indian Tchoukball Federation
Home Events Download Photo Gallery Contact Us

How TO Play

        Simple rule, an exciting game for beginnerís right from the start, a highly competitive team sport, no need for expensive equipment, can be adapted to all surfaces, perfect for both men and women!

         Tchoukball is played with two 'frames'. These frames, as they are called, measure 1 meter square and are situated at both ends of the court. A line runs 3 meters from the centre of the bottom of the frame around in a semi-circle. This area is known as the 'forbidden zone' or more familiarly, the 'D'. The court size varies greatly depending on the ages of the players; a full size international standard court is 26 X 17 meters in size. One of the main things about Tchoukball that surprises people is that players can attack and defend at both ends.

         On each side there are 12 players named for any one game, 7 players and 5 substitutes. Although there are specialized positions in attack and defense, players are allowed to do either. Players fall into three categories; 'shooters' who's main aim is to score points, 'inners' or 'end pivets' whose role is mainly defensive, and a 'centre pivet', who spend most of their time in the centre of the court to distribute play from one end to the other.

         Put quite simply, the object of the game is to throw, or 'shoot' the ball at the frame, so that it lands over the line of the D. The oppositionís job is to catch the ball, and then 'shoot' it. This sequence continues until a point is scored.

         Everything works in 3 seconds. You have 3 seconds with the ball, 3 steps with the ball, and 3 passes with the ball before it has to be thrown at the frame. Tchoukball is a non-contact sport. There is no tackling involved and the only time play switches from one team to the other is when the ball is shot into the frame by the attacking team and caught by the defense. To shoot the ball at the frame you have to jump from outside the safety zone, and release it before you land.


Simply Defined in Three Steps


Pass the Ball

The attacking teams are allowed a maximum of 3 passes to try to be in the best situation possible for shooting. The team member has 3 seconds with the ball to keep the ball more than 3 seconds is forbidden.



A Player can decide anytime to shoot with the ball on the frame.


After shoot out the ball by the opposite team the other team tries to catch the ball, At this moment the defending team shall do its best to catch the ball bouncing from the frame before it touches the ground.

         A player scores a point for his team if he bounces the ball off the Frame in such a manner that it cannot be caught by an opponent before it touches the floor.
A player gives a point to the other team if:
He misses the rebound surface when he shoots the ball.
He makes the ball bounce out-of-bounds.
He shoots the ball and it bounces back, touching him.
He sends the ball into the forbidden zone, before or after it hits the frame.

When the ball is shot by a team into the frame, the opposing team has to defend around the line. Typically (as shown here on the left) they will be on their knees to catch the ball. The two other players behind the defense are known as 'second line defenders'. They are defenders from the other end of the court who are there in case the ball is deflected upwards and behind the 'front line' of defense.

In order to score a point the player that has shot the ball into the frame must ensure that the ball lands outside of the 'D'. If it lands inside, it is a point to the defending team. Play will then restart from behind the frame the point was scored at.

The player can take 3 steps and is not allowed to bounce the ball on the ground between these steps.
The attacking team cannot make more than 3 passes before shooting

Size of the Court
Number of Players
Length of Time
17 x 26 meter
7 Players / Team
3 x 15 min
Indian Tchoukball Federation
1. Assam
2. AndhraPradesh
3. Bihar
4. Chandigrah
5. Chhattisgarh
6. Delhi
7. Dadar Nagar Haveli
8. Goa
9. Haryana
10. Himachal Pradesh
11. Jammu Kashmir
12. Kerala
13. Madhya Pradesh
14. Maharashtra
15. Orissa
16. Punjab
17. Rajasthan
18. Uttar Pradesh
19. Uttarakhand
20. West Bengal

Copyright 2009 All rights reserved.